In 2012, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Won victory of 119 seats and at that same year, Congress won 57 / 182 seats. The Congress also went through a crisis when it was left with only 43 MLAs after over dozen of them defected, following which the state unit transported majority of the remaining MLAs to a resort.